sillydance Yahoo! Avatars
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-11 - 11:15 a.m.

I've quite taken to these snails now.

They're surprisingly active for slow-moving gastropods, and surprisingly cute for giant slugs with shells on. They also don't feel slimy when they sit on my hand; they feel cold, heavy and slightly sucky, and sometimes they lick me. I'm not sure which one this is:
I have named them Demetrius, Helena, Lysander, Hermia, Titania and Oberon, because they wander around in circles during the night and don't seem to mind which of the other ones they mate with. Demetrius, the largest one, is about 13 centimetres across in body length. Titania and Oberon are the babies, only about a couple of inches each. They are all mostly to be found hanging upside down from the top of the tank - maybe they were bats in a previous life...

Last night, I also discovered that they make a lot of noise. They tap and scrape their shells together, and I can also hear them scrunching on their apple and carrot. Here's a picture of Lysander munching some apple out of my hand:
It's amazing, you can see him chewing and swallowing and see large bites of the apple disappearing! I never expected to enjoy playing with them so much...

Well, I suppose this entry qualifies me for the men in white coats at last.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!