sillydance Yahoo! Avatars
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-22 - 6:16 p.m.

Just...can't...work...Maybe I have brain overload after the Tragedy exam yesterday, but I slept all morning today! And yet my attempts at reading are utterly hopeless, and I'm getting really scared now about the Visual Culture paper.

The Tragedy paper was a bit nightmarish. Unbelievably, none of the essays I had so carefully prepared came up, despite the fact that they had reliably appeared in every single past paper. There was nothing on the body, nothing on time and space and being trapped, etc (unbelievably) and the only question on tragic women was confined to the Greeks. So instead of doing my one "uberessay", I was forced to do three, only one of which (the Greek women one) was even remotely prepared. I tried calmly telling myself that I had read quite enough to do the essays even without having learnt quotations, and I'm sure that was true to some extent because I wasn't short of ideas, but it was frustrating not to be able to show off my larger ideas and knowledge that I had spent so much time accumulating; and I think the Shakespeare question, in particular, was very evil and went rather badly. The upshot of all this is that I really need to do well on the Visual Culture paper to balance out my marks, but having had no formal teaching on part b, and forgotten all of part a while trying to teach myself part b, I'm completely unprepared for it! I don't know how I'm going to have worked it all out by Thursday. As for Wednesday's Comedy paper, I've practically forgotten it exists. I must force myself to look at it tomorrow, however urgent the other seems.

Meanwhile, the Church of Fools is down after 41,000 people attempted to visit it in a single day - amazing! But I've found other ways to waste my time, like putting some poetry up on my website (http://uk.geocities.com/miriam_compton) and basically faffing. Last night all the English folk recovered from Tragedy by watching Eddie Izzard and eating pizza, and I ate cheese, which isn't allowed - but mmmm! I miss cheese...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!