sillydance Yahoo! Avatars
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-19 - 11:40 p.m.

First exam tomorrow! Yesterday I managed to sunburn my legs (and why does nobody tell you that moisturiser REALLY STINGS on sunburn?) So today, I went to buy suntan lotion. I was in a hurry to get through shopping and go back to revision, so I grabbed a bottle from the shelf without noticing what it was,other than the fact that it was factor 15 sun lotion. I was surprised that it cost just over �8 but bought it anyway; it's always pretty expensive. However, when I actually came to applying it, I noticed that it's opaque, gold-coloured and full of little bits of glitter. I checked the bottle again, and where before it had simply said "sun lotion", it now said "sun protection with Radiant Sheen". I couldn't take the stuff back having opened it and poured it, so I have been Radiantly Sheening all day,and my Tragedy revision notes are covered in incongruous bits of gold glitter!

Betty's tonight was fantastic, it's always good to have an audience that laughs, claps and sings along loudly. I'm going to miss it so much. It's strange that something so...well...ordinary as singing to old people should have become such a highlight of my Cambridge life. I don't really mean ordinary, but I mean something that could be done pretty much anywhere if one had the organisation - and in fact I hope I will be able to set up something similar in Warwick eventually, maybe after my PGCE year. But the point I'm trying to make is that of all my Cambridge memories, the best ones have nothing to do with courts and towers, halls and gowns, intellectual conversation, poetry or punting - much as I've loved all those things - the best moments have been performing "Crest of a Wave", wearing a sailor hat and waving my arms around to an audience of octogenarians. Thank God! Because that bodes well for the rest of my life...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!